One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

Today I was at Planet Fitness working out. AKA walking around and people watching. I finished my workout, and I felt really good about it. I felt the pump. For like five minutes it felt like I had abs. Then as I turn the corner to leave, I see 50 boxes of fresh pizza. All for me. And the other people that have memberships. But each slice screamed, “Austin, eat me. Now.” So, naturally, I listened to the talking pizza and ate. It was great. Except that all of my previous workout was cancelled out. My workout was ruined. It was as if it never happened. I could’ve been one step closer to abs. Instead I was exactly where I started.

Sometimes we can catch ourselves right back where we started. We can catch ourselves taking one step forward and two steps back. Sometimes we see the pizza, it starts talking, and we eat it. There’s this guy in the Bible that this happened to. Not pizza. But he did take one  step forward and two back. His name is Moses.

Sure, he parted the sea. He threw a stick on the ground like The Lonely Isand. Then the stick turned into a snake. God did some amazing things through Moses. But the beginning of Moses life was a roller coaster of emotions.

Pharaoh is killing all the baby boys. Moses was a baby boy. His mom put him in a basket and he was found by Pharaoh’s daughter.

Step forward.

Moses is raised and watches his people, the Israelites, beaten and enslaved.

Step back.

Moses sees an Israelite being hurt by an Egyptian. Moses kills the dude and covers him with some sand.

Step back. Again. 

Moses goes to tend sheep for like ever. Such a great life.

Then God steps in.

“An angel of the LORD appeared to him in flames of fire from within a bush. Moses saw that though the bush was on fire it did not burn up. So Moses thought, ‘I will go over and see this strange sight- why the bush does not burn up.’ When the LORD saw that he had gone over to look, God called to him from within the bush, ‘Moses! Moses!’ And Moses said, ‘Here I am.'” (Exodus 3:2-4, NIV)

God stepped into the situation and there were no longer steps back. God stepped in and changed the very course of Moses’ life. This passage goes on to talk about Moses being the one to take the children of Israel out of Egypt. Moses was constantly taking steps back. Screwing up. Killing people. Hiding people in sand. He was just a mess.

Then God stepped in.

When God steps into a situation everything changes. Moses went from herding sheep, to herding the people of Israel. All because God stepped in. Regardless of the obstacles in our lives, God is faithful. God made the first step to Moses. He will make the first step to you and I as well.

Whether you’ve taken step after step back, or step after step forward, when God steps in everything changes. 

Leave a Reply

