What Starbucks and Zaxby’s taught me.

Today I was left at home alone with my mom’s keys and debit card. Yeah, that’s right. So, naturally, I decided it was a good idea to use them both. My mom would’ve been insulted had I not used the “gifts” she left me. I went to Starbucks first to get my coffee (Tall regular coffee, two big pours of half and half, and 4 Splenda’s) then I went to Zaxby’s, Starbucks cup in hand. After the initial awkward glances at my Starbucks coffee cup from the employees of this chicken joint, I got my food. Something about the combination of Zaxby’s chicken and Starbucks coffee got me thinking. What in the world am I doing? I’m going to be a Junior in college. COLLEGE. I know what I want to do. I have an entire Evernote notebook dedicated to ideas and plans and dreams of what I want to do, so I know what I want to do. But how do I put two things together that don’t make sense? Me and my dreams. How in the world can I fit into my own dreams? That’s when I took this picture. How in the world do Starbucks and Zaxby’s go together? Chicken and coffee is as awkward as Angela and Andy dating on “The Office”. Maybe I don’t have to make myself fit with my dreams, maybe that’s why they are dreams, because I can’t fit into them on my own. Maybe that’s why Solomon said, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5-6 NIV 1984). I just have to trust in the Lord and He will fit me and my dreams together. If my dream was something I could fit into easily, I wouldn’t have to trust in the Lord.

Have you ever had a Starbucks and Zaxby’s moment? Have you had something you knew you were supposed to do, but couldn’t without some Lord help?

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

