But God.

Like a shepherd’s tent my house has been pulled down and taken from me. Like a weaver I have rolled up my life, and he has cut me off from the loom; day and night you made an end of me. I waited patiently till dawn, but like a lion he broke all my bones; day and night you made an end of me. I cried like a swift or thrush, I moaned like a mourning dove. My eyes grew weak as I looked to the heavens. I am troubled; O Lord, come to my aid! But what can I say? He has spoken to me, and he himself has done this. I will walk humbly all my years because of this anguish of my soul. Lord, by such things men live; and my spirit finds life in them too. You restored me to health and let me live. Surely it was for my benefit that I suffered such anguish. In your love you kept me from the pit of destruction; you have put all my sins behind your back. Isaiah 38:12-17 NIV

Hezekiah was about to die. All he had was going to be taken from him.
But God.
God gave Hezekiah fifteen more years of life because he was faithful. Just because you are faithful doesn’t mean God is going to give you fifteen more years, unfortunately.
Everything he had was being taken but through it all Hezekiah was faithful. He didn’t know that God would give him more time. He just did what God commanded. He was faithful.
When all we have is taken, will we be faithful to God?
When everything we love, everything we hold dear, everything that means anything to us is taken, will we be faithful to God? Or will we turn our back on God and give him the finger for allowing us to go through hell?
It sucks. Trials suck. Losses suck. Suffering sucks.
But God.
God used the suffering and anguish. It was for Hezekiah’s benefit that he experience the suffering and anguish. God forgave Hezekiah of his sins and in love kept him from destruction.
When everything is bad, when life is low, when God seems far, He is using our suffering and anguish to benefit us. Even when we can’t possibly see how. God is with us.
Stay faithful through the trials as hard as they may be because God will stay faithful to you.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “But God.

Leave a Reply

